SC refuses to stay Parikkar’s oath-taking ceremony - The Fearless Indian
Home / India / SC refuses to stay Parikkar’s oath-taking ceremony

SC refuses to stay Parikkar’s oath-taking ceremony

  • Editor
  • March 14, 2017
Follow us on

The spirit of Holi gala was expected to spill with a series of colourful political developments poised to play out over the issue of government formation in the coastal state, which has thrown up a fractured mandate.

While former senior BJP leader Manohar Parikkar is scheduled to be sworn in as Chief Minister by Governor Mridula Sinha, the Congress met Sinha, demanding that the Congress be granted an opportunity to form a government, because it has emerged as the single largest party in the February 4 elections with 17 MLAs.

However, the Supreme Court has refused to stay the oath-taking of BJP’s chief minister candidate Manohar Parikkar and ordered a floor test to be held in the Goa Legislative Assembly on Thursday. During the hearing over the petition, filed by party leader Chandrakant Kavlekar, the Congress argued that Governor Mridula Sinha invited the BJP first to form the government despite it emerging as the single largest party with 17 MLAs in the just-concluded Assembly election.

A special bench headed by Chief Justice J S Khehar said in its ruling, “You (Congress) don’t have the numbers and that’s why you didn’t claim to form government. You haven’t demonstrated before the governor that number is in your favour”.  The top court then directed Goa governor Mridula Sinha to conduct a floor test for the Manohar Parikar led BJP coalition government at 11 am on March 16.

“As per well-established constitutional norms and conventions, the single-largest party ought to have been given an opportunity to form government and prove its majority,” Congress Legislative Party leader Kavlekar said.

When Parikkar arrives for the swearing-in at Raj Bhavan at 5pm today, he is reportedly expected to swear-in eight other ministers, two each from the alliance partners Goa Forward and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, two Independent legislators and four from the BJP.


Facebook Comments

You may also like

Check Also

5 Vada Pav joints that need to be on your wish-list!