WOMEN’S PREMIER LEAGUE 2018 - Paving the Path for Women Cricketers - The Fearless Indian
Home / Nationalism / WOMEN’S PREMIER LEAGUE 2018 – Paving the Path for Women Cricketers

WOMEN’S PREMIER LEAGUE 2018 – Paving the Path for Women Cricketers

  • Guest Writer
  • March 11, 2018
Follow us on

After a glorious performance in World cup by Indian Women in England, the Women’s cricket has taken a front stage and has provided an opportunity to many young women players to show their talent and make career in cricket. Hence to boost women’s cricket at grass-root level, Vile Parle Cultural Centre (VPCC) Sportsnasha.com (a grass-root sports promoting website with a mission more rackets and less gadgets) joined hands to organize a women’s cricket tournament of 20 overs on league basis in Mumbai.

The idea received further boost and encouragement from Women’s cricket association of India (WCAI), spearheaded by Mrs. Rani Sharma and Hon.Secretary is Ms. Nutan Gavaskar Natu (ex-Mumbai player and sister of legend Sunil Gavaskar). The concept became a reality with unparalleled support from Mrs. Shweta Shalini and her team.

The league matches were played on 6th and 7th March 2018 at Mahim Juvenile Club ground and BMC ground at Shivaji Park Dadar , Mumbai. The final was played between Chandigarh Chandnees and MP Magicians at MIG Cricket Club Bandra East, Mumbai on 8th March 2018.

This was a first of its kind tournament involving teams from various states at venues in Mumbai.

The tournament named as Women’s Premier League (WPL) is nothing but a major step in providing a platform for women cricketers from various parts of country.

The six teams participating in tournament were:

1.Chandigarh- Chandigarh Chandnees.
2. Uttarakhand- UK Divas
3. Maharashtra- Maharashtra master blasters
4. West Bengal- West Bengal Wonder Girls
5. MP- MP Magicians
6. UP- UP Shernees.

The opening ceremony of the tournament was held at Dubhashi Ground, Vile Parle East on 5th March- at 6 PM in presence of Veermata Anuradha Gore ji, Mr. Yajurvindra Singh ji (a world record holder of most catches in Test cricket and ex-MD Wisden, England), and Ms. Sai Tamhankar , popular Marathi Actress. Other dignitaries included Mrs. Shweta Shalini, Mr, Parag Alavani, MLA, Mrs. Jyoti Alavani, Corporator and other eminent personalities from the field of sports. All the teams from six states will be welcomed in this ceremony.

The closing ceremony and prize distribution was held in presence of Mrs.Amruta Fadnavis ji and famous Bollywood National Award Winning Director, Mr. Madhur Bhandarkar ji at MIG Bandra .

The coveted trophy was won by Chandigarh Chandnees who defeated MP Magicians by 41 runs in the finals, thus making them the first ever winner of the Women Premier League T20 Tournament. 


Here looking forward to the next edition of this grand tournament encouraging women’s cricket and budding sports-stars.


Facebook Comments

You may also like

Check Also

RSS to lure young cadres in to its wing!

The RSS is on a massive recruitment drive, this time, luring young cadres above the age of 15.